Celebrating, Supporting and Expanding Canada’s Hedge Fund Industry



Eligibility requirements for hedge funds to be considered for a 2018 Canadian Hedge Fund Award:

  • must be domiciled in Canada
  • must have a track record of at least 1 year to June 30th
  • must have a minimum $10 million in AUM
  • must be in CAD

The CHFAs are categorized by fund strategy as follows:

Equity Focused

Funds that employ primarily equity investment strategies including  Long/Short Equity, Event Driven, Convertible Arbitrage, Relative Value, Statistical Arbitrage and REITs. Fixed income investments are usually less than 30% of the Fund’s portfolio. Funds with the majority of securities not marked-to-market are excluded (ie Private Equity funds are not eligible).

Market Neutral

Funds that seek to generate absolute positive returns entirely from security selection, not market exposure. The Fund seeks to remain “Market Neutral” by investing in long and short positions with low correlation to other asset classes. Shorts are used primarily for hedging rather than alpha generation.

Credit Focused

Funds that employ primarily fixed income investment strategies. Equity investments are usually no more than 30% of the Fund’s portfolio. Funds with the majority of securities not marked-to-market are excluded (ie Private Debt funds are not eligible).

Global Macro/Managed Futures/ Multi Strategy

Global Macro are funds that employ strategies – such as long and short positions in various equity, fixed income, currency, and futures markets – primarily on overall economic and political, “Macro-economic” views of various countries.  Multi-Strat are funds that employ several strategies within the same pool of assets and Managed Futures are funds that invest primarily in futures and options with exposure to a number of markets such as commodities, energy, agriculture and currency.

NEW for 2018: Private Debt

This new category of the Canadian Hedge Fund Awards program is for those credit focused hedge funds in which the underlying securities are not marked to market.

Based on performance to June 30th, 2018,  the Canadian Hedge Fund Awards measurements for each category will again be:

  • Best 1 year return
  • Best 5-year average annual compound return
  • Best 5-year Sharpe Ratio

Best Overall Canadian Hedge Fund:

Combining best 10-year average annual compound return AND Best 10-year Sharpe Ratio, this award recognizes longevity as well as performance. Less than 50 Canadian hedge funds currently have this tenure.

Managers’ Choice Awards:

Based on voting by participating Canadian Hedge Fund managers, awards are also presented each year to top service providers. In 2018 the following “Managers Choice CHFAs” were presented:

  • Top Canadian Hedge Fund Administrator     –   SGGG Fund Services
  • Top Canadian Prime Broker                             –   CIBC Capital Markets
  • Top Canadian Law Firm                                   –   McMillan LLP
  • Top Canadian Accounting Firm                      –   KPMG LLP